Trance

Synopsis: James (I keep getting cast in high-profile films even though I’m totally lacking in charisma) McAvoy plays the lead in Danny Boyle’s latest offering about an auctioneer, a missing painting, a group of utterly useless criminals and a glamorous hypnotherapist.

What can I say? Meh [shrugs shoulders].  It looks quite nice visually.  Apart from that I found this to be confusing and actually quite nasty, with more holes in the plot than Sam Beckett had in his swiss cheese brain.   I can’t say much at all about the plot because I could easily give too much away for those who still intend to see it (please do, I’d love to know what you think), so apologies if this all seems a tad cryptic.

My main problem is that it thinks it’s really clever.  After twist, upon twist, upon twist (and so on) the ultimate resolution was unsatisfying, and in hindsight actually means that a lot of the preceding action makes little or no sense.

With each twist, I found myself caring a little less about the ultimate outcome – I just wanted it to get to the point, already.  The characters were all deeply unlikable which is fine when you have a Pesci/De Nero/Nicholson level badie you can get on board with – love or loathe – but there was nothing of this calibre here.  It was contrived, confused and very, very disappointing.

Furthermore, I really don’t understand the McAvoy phenomenon (the phenomenon being that he gains so many starring roles in spite of having no screen presence or discernible talent); Cassel wasn’t really given anything to do and Rosario Dawson was just a bit annoying as the obligatory love interest.

Score: 2/10

Key info
Released: 2013
Running time: 1 hr 41 minutes
Directed by: Danny Boyle
Starring: James McAvoy, Rosario Dawson, Vincent Cassel

5 responses to “Trance

  1. I also don’t understand the love for McAvoy. I don’t think he’s a really good actor and he’s not particularly good looking. Kind of like Shia LaPoof. I like you 🙂

    • Aww, shucks, right back at ya.

      Urgh, McAvoy is so insipid! He’s on my “I don’t understand why you’re successful and keep getting cast” list. If you want to test your dislike of him (umm, no I’m not sure why you would, either), give Filth a try. He makes quite a good scumbag.

      While we’re on the subject, where did Shia LaPoof come from, anyway?

      • LOL – I never can remember how to spell his last name and I hate him so… LaPoof it is 🙂

Leave a Reply

