Man of Steel

Synopsis: err, it’s a Superman film. Baby Superman crash lands on Earth after being shot into space from his dying home planet by his parents. Baby Superman grows into a tortured, but hot, young do-gooder with super powers. Bad guys try to take over Earth. Superman must stop them.

Yeah, I'll give you a lift...

Yeah, I’ll give you a lift…

What can I say? I quite enjoyed Man of Steel. There. I said it. Yes, it’s loud. Yes, it’s stupid in places. Yes, it takes itself a little bit too seriously. And yes, there is some seriously cheesy dialogue. It was never going to be an Oscar contender, but for all that, it’s not a bad good summer blockbuster. It’s quite massively over-long though; I really don’t think a super hero film needs to last more than 90 minutes, to be honest. Unfortunately for me excessive running times seem to be in vogue so I suppose I’ll have to wait for that trend to change, or dig out some classics that aren’t so long that they need an intermission.

I liked the home planet/Russell Crowe back story and the farm/Kevin Costner (what’s he been up to all this time, anyway?) back story, and Michael Shannon makes for a good baddie.

Henry Cavill is a real treat as the brooding superhero just trying to do the right thing, and he certainly looks the part. [Switswoo!] Although I’m not sure that frowning and pouting really constitutes emoting.

Amy Adams didn’t make for a terribly convincing Lois Lane in my opinion, but I think that could be something to do with The New Adventures of Superman, which I remember watching as a youngster. All I can see is Terri Hatcher. Now I’m not saying she (or the show) was actually any good but Amy Adams just doesn’t have a strong enough image to displace her as Lois Lane.

But, I digress. If you’re a fan of the Christopher Reeve Superman films, this might not work for you, but as I’m not sure if I’ve ever seen one the whole way through, it wasn’t a problem for me.

Score: 6.9/10

Key info
Released: 2013
Running time: 2 hrs 23 minutes
Starring: Henry Cavill, Russell Crowe, Kevin Costner, Diane Lane, Amy Adams, Michael Shannon
Directed by: Zack Snyder

6 responses to “Man of Steel

  1. You hit the nail on the head with my feelings towards this film! I did like Amy Adams though and liked her better than Kate Bosworth in the last one. And love your blog btw! 🙂

Leave a Reply

