Sisters

Synopsis: Danielle’s (Margot Kidder) flat is the scene of a murder, witnessed by her neighbour Grace. Grace is determined to get to the bottom of what happened, even though the police don’t believe her. Oh, I should mention at this point that Danielle is the supposedly sane half of a set of conjoined twins (now separated). Her sister Dominique, being somewhat unhinged.

Yeah, I was confused too.

Yeah, I was confused too.

What can I say? Once I got past the cheesy 70s look and feel of Sisters, I was struck by the many Hitchcockian touches (is that even a word?). The music is straight out of Psycho, the premise of a neighbour witnessing a murder while peeping through someone else’s open blinds is pure Rear Window and the driving scenes could be modelled on any number of Hitch’s classics.

Now, I’m a massive Hitchcock fan so have to tip my hat to any director who likes him too but here, it’s just so cheesey it feels more like parody than homage. The fact that this was made in the 70s probably doesn’t help – the 70s were just a bit cheesey really, weren’t they? Add Margot Kidder’s totally bonkers French accent into the mix and it really is a bit daft.

Final thoughts: not completely hopeless, but only really worth a look if you a) have a thing for Lois Lane b) are a De Palma fan c) like cheesey 70s Hitchcock parodies.

Score: 6/10

If you want to decide for yourself, you can watch it on YouTube

Key info
Released: 1973
Running time: 1 hr 33 mins
Directed by: Brian De Palma
Starring: Margot Kidder, Jennifer Salt, Charles Durning, William Finlay

2 responses to “Sisters

  1. Nice review! Another nice, fairly obscure choice. I reviewed this a while back too… I need to come back & explore your blog more later when I have more time – I love blogs that do things like this too and not ONLY current mainstream films. : )

    • Thanks very much, that’s greatly appreciated. I watch a lot of films and like to keep my options open in terms of genre and release date. It’s also fun to put people onto old films that they might have missed.

Leave a Reply

