Insidious: Chapter 2

Although I love horror films, I wasn’t that keen on Insidious so I watched the sequel with some trepidation and low expectations.  I was pleasantly surprised, it really wasn’t that bad.

The Lambert family is still being plagued by the same kind of strange, supernatural goings on we saw in Insidious, but this time it’s dad Josh (Patrick Wilson) who’s at the centre of it all.  Rose Byrne returns as Josh’s anxious wife and Barbara Hershey reprises her role as Josh’s mum (looking bloody good for her age, as well).  The kooky paranormal investigators return too and provide some much-needed light relief.

The timeline of Chapter 2 is more than a little confusing as we jump around between the present day, Josh’s childhood and the events of Insidious, as well as flitting between the real world and The Further.  At times it feels a bit messy.  Just try to keep up.

Even the star, Patrick Wilson, is struggling to follow the crazy plot.

Even the star, Patrick Wilson, is struggling to follow the crazy plot.

I’m not going to outline the plot because the interweb is already full of detailed synopses and spoilers, what I will say that this is a relatively well-crafted possession film.  It has good production values, solid acting and builds on the first film to create quite a clever sequel (by horror sequel standards, that is).

But after years as an avid horror fan, I don’t scare easily and there wasn’t really anything here to get my palms sweating.  It was quite tense in places though, and in all honesty, it’s just nice to see a horror film that isn’t shot using the cheap and cheerful found footage mechanism.

Chapter 3 is slated for a 2015 release, and I’ll definitely give it a go.  Let’s be honest, it’s likely to be the best of a bad lot.

Score: 6/10

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fBbi4NeebAk

8 responses to “Insidious: Chapter 2

  1. Good review Laura. The first one wasn’t all that special to me, but looks a hell of a lot better than this, especially since the scares don’t quite feel that genuine this time around.

    • Thanks so much. It is a bit of a mess, but I actually preferred this – I think that’s because my expectations were so low!

  2. You make me want to see this because “quite tense in places” is like a ringing endorsement when it comes to horror, ha. Question for you: what’s the scariest movie you’ve ever seen?

    • Hmm… that’s a tough one! The Descent frightened the life out of me. Eden Lake stayed with me for days, I just kept thinking about it. Who Can Kill a Child was seriously creepy.

      There are some that I watched when I was (way too) young that I’m not sure would be scary now like the original Nightmare on Elm Street and Poltergeist.

      I did a Halloween post which listed some of my favourites, if you have time to check it out.

      How about you? I’m always looking for recommendations.

      • OH man, Eden Lake was horrific. Scary enough that I watched it twice, ha. The Descent is another really good one! Funnily enough, my friends and I were talking about it last night. Did you ever see The Descent 2?

        I really liked The Conjuring, actually. Last night I watched You’re Next and that had some good creepy moments. I’m going to check out your halloween post! I just want to see something so scary that I literally cannot speak for days.

      • Ha, good luck with your quest! I sometimes worry I’ve seen too many horror films to be truly scared by them. I’ll come back and check your blog to see what you find…

  3. I don’t know what it was about this film, and I’m a pretty hardened horror viewer, but some parts just made me want to whimper and hide.

    Also, having read the above, EDEN LAKE IS SO SO SO HORRIFIC! The box cutter part? Stayed with me for weeks. So grim.

    Great review, by the way 🙂

    • I watch a lot of horror films but Eden Lake really got under my skin. Seriously, I couldn’t stop thinking about it for days [shudder]. It’s funny how some things are really affecting, while others aren’t.

Leave a Reply

