Pacific Rim

[sigh]  Where to start with Pacific Rim?  Guillermo del Toro, the director who brought us the outstanding Pan’s Labyrinth?  Idris Elba, the star of the top-notch BBC series, Luther?  How about Sons of Anarchy favourite, Charlie Hunnam?  Or Hellboy himself, Ron Perlman.  How about giant robots fighting giant alien sea monsters that want to take over the planet and kill us all?  Sounds fun, doesn’t it?  Sounds exciting?  Well, it isn’t.

Were giant robots really the best idea they could come up with...?

Were giant robots really the best idea they could come up with…?

I’m not sure how an action film with such a big budget ($190m, according to IMDB), one that has such a good director and some very watchable actors (see the aforementioned Idris Elba) can be so damned boring.  I don’t mind the ridiculous premise or the flimsy plot.  I don’t watch action films for their award-winning status, I watch them for escapism and for fun.  But with a running time of two hours and 11 minutes, it’s about an hour too long.

Score: 5/10

6 responses to “Pacific Rim

    • I like to think I’m not a snob and that I like action films and special effects, but they need something resembling a story line too. Fingers crossed for del Torro’s next offering.

  1. Lol! You liked this much less than I did BUT… God, what a horrible script & acting. Could have been so much better! Was still pretty fun on the big screen, though. : ) I have to disappear now – I seriously need to catch up on your blog! Will be back this week. : )

    • I’m sad for Idris Elba because he’s so good, although I’m sure he made a few quid so I’ll draw the line at tears. I will be very glad to never have to see this again.

Leave a Reply

