Caché (Hidden)

Caché is a twisted and mysterious film about an upper middle class French couple, played by the eminently watchable Daniel Auteuil and Juliette Binoche.  Their comfortable lives are disrupted by an unknown stalker who films their house and leaves the tapes on their doorstep.  So unsettling is this bizarre experience, that Georges (Auteuil) sets about tracking down their tormentor, and unravelling their motives.

Did I mention that they receive some strange drawings, too?

Did I mention that they receive some strange drawings, too?

Hidden has a very respectable 7.3 out of 10 on IMDB and a meta score of 83/100 but I really don’t see the appeal.  Auteuil and Binoche both give strong performances and the mystery is suitably intriguing, but there just isn’t 117 minutes worth of story, here .  Worse than that, I found the payoff ultimately unsatisfying, it actually left me saying ‘what the hell?’ out loud to an empty room.  I was actually kind of annoyed that I’d sat through the whole thing.

Considering this was written and directed by Michael Haneke (whose Oscar-winning 2012 film, Amour, I absolutely adored) I was expecting to enjoy this more than I did.

Score: 4/10

2 responses to “Caché (Hidden)

Leave a Reply

