Bad horror: Atrocious

I’m really going to have to start selecting my films more carefully, aren’t I?  Atrocious is a found footage horror film that follows a teenage brother and sister as they investigate the legend of a missing girl.

As it opens, we’re given a definition of the word ‘atrocious’ which relates to evil.  My understanding of the word relates more to the utterly abysmal, the bad, the terrible.  And unfortunately, dear reader, that is what I got: the abysmal, the bad, the terrible…

So, anyway, Cristian and July roam the overgrown labyrinth at the back of the house, camcorders in hand, hoping to catch a glimpse of the mysterious Melinda.  The ghost of a little girl who went missing there many years ago, and who is said to appear and guide those who are lost back to safety.  Queue seemingly endless scenes of overgrown hedges.

Night-vision-hedge-shot

Night-vision-hedge-shot

Mercifully short at 75 minutes, it feels more like 75 years, perhaps because (as with many found footage films), hardly anything happens.  Thanks for that Blair Witch, nice one.  To be honest, the found footage label should’ve been enough to send me running for the hills, such is my bad luck with these films, but curiosity always gets the better of me.

Oh yeah, and the family has a dog, which is never good when it comes to horror films, as the genre demands any pets are the first to ‘get it’.  This should serve as a warning, but no.  Let’s just carry on as if nothing’s happened.  Until we get clobbered too, that is.  Snore!

In spite of a deadly dull first half, Atrocious does manage to ratchet up the tension, but by then it’s just too little too late.  All this combined with a totally implausible resolution left me pretty frustrated by the end.

In Spanish with English subtitles.

Score: 3/10

29 responses to “Bad horror: Atrocious

  1. LOL – I’ve seen this around forever and never pulled the trigger. Sounds like I made the right choice HAHAHAHAHA!!!

    Good one!!

  2. I’m glad to see I’m not alone with my distaste for found footage. Shakycam =/= immersion or believability. Fantastic review!

    • Thanks very much! I sort of want to like them because it is impressive to make a film with next to no budget, but… Blair Witch has a lot to answer for, in my opinion.

      • Indie horror found film I can dig. (I’m looking at you Grave Encounters, surprisingly.) It’s the AAA movie companies that try to ape low budget the irk me.

      • Precisely. There’s a reason Katharine Hepburn didn’t get into cinematography in her later years. Just watch On Golden Pond to see what I mean.

    • Unfortunately it isn’t the worst found footage mess I’ve sat through. Yellow Brick Road takes that prize. Truly abysmal. Like, offensively bad.

Leave a Reply

