Harry Brown

Well, what a relentlessly depressing 97 minutes that was.  97 minutes I’ll never get back.  I feel very sad.

In a nutshell, Harry Brown is an elderly ex-serviceman who is bent on revenge against the gang of hoodies who murdered his friend.  The premise is as bleak as the council estate the story is set on, and knowing that there are all too many places like this – where people are afraid to leave their own homes for fear of being attacked – just mad me, well, sad.

I was also sad to see Michael Caine (whom I love, by the way) as an elderly man.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not being ageist, and its great that he’s still working, it’s just sad to think about the effects the ageing process has on the body.  I felt the same way when I saw the fourth Indiana Jones film – Harrison Ford walked like an old man, and it was sad.

harry brown

Anyway, Caine’s still total hardcase and more than holds his own against the young whippersnappers just a quarter of his age, so that was kind of heartening, but all in all, this film was just hard work and isn’t something I’d like to endure again.

Score: 5/10

17 responses to “Harry Brown

  1. It was grim but It was also a good Death Wish type story that featured Michael Caine in full Get Carter mode, almost forty years later.

  2. Nice review! This was one of the most depressing movies I’ve ever seen! I love Caine too, but it was just so relentlessly dark and gloomy and sad. Not that it was a bad movie, but I would have to agree with you that it was difficult to make it through and I won’t be watching it again!

  3. I probably liked this a bit more than you did but then I love a really gritty, depressing film. I can understand why you found it hard going.

  4. On the one hand, it is sad to see our favorite actors and actresses get old. On the other hand, sometimes they turn out amazing performances in the late stages of their careers.

    • Indeed. It makes me feel very conflicted! Caine is still very good, and I’m glad he’s still working, but seeing these stars grow old is a reminder that we’re all heading that way, which is kind of sad.

  5. Have to say I enjoyed the movie more than you seem to have. It is of course very much a formula movie but way better than similar British movies about inner city crime

Leave a Reply

