The Shitlist – my top 10 most irritating actresses

I was inspired by Abbi over at Where the Wild Things Are to put together my top 10 most irritating actors, so I just had to follow it up with my top 10 most irritating actresses.  And do you know what?   I think they might be even more annoying…

In no particular order, are my own top 10 most irritating actresses.

Malin Akerman.  Just.  So.  Irritating!  Seriously, I’m not sure what her deal is, but for some reason she makes me twitch.

malin

Elizabeth Banks.  Malin and Banks are cut from the same cloth, perhaps why I find them both so very annoying.  I’m really not sure what discernible talent either of them has.  Plus, there’s all those shitty rom-coms.  Urgh.

 

Elizabeth-Banks-6

Gwyneth Paltrow.  No list of irritating actresses would be complete without Gwynnie.  She has a lot to offer, being that she’s equally annoying on and off screen – she dated Brad Pitt, married rock’s most insipid front-man, named her first born Apple (ffs!), uses the term ‘consciously uncoupling’ and goes on endlessly about macrobiotic food.  What a massive snore.  Frankly I was glad when her head ended up in a cardboard box.

gwyneth

Julia Roberts had to make the list purely because of the sheer vastness of her dodgy rom-com back catalogue.  I’m surprised she hasn’t given herself diabetes, she just seems so, nice.

julia

I had to include Kate Beckinsale because I can’t help but think she’s successful at the expense of other British actresses, who have more talent in their split ends than she has in her whole body.

KateBeckinsale_absolutely_anything2

Kristen Stewart made the grade because of her perpetually sulky expression – talk about a face like a slapped arse.  There’s also the whole R-Pats thing which multiplies her irritation quotient exponentially.

kristen-stewart

Amy Adams because I’m not even sure why, just argh!

amy adams

Rachel McAdams.  OK, so by this point I’m realising that my dislike for these actresses is actually pretty irrational.  I mean, it’s not really founded on anything much, other than a primal, gut instinct.  Like how a lot of people are scared of spiders.

Argh!  It’s a McAdams – quick, flush it down the toilet!

Rachel-McAdams-rachel-mcadams-32477247-500-400

Jennifer Garner.  One half of one of Hollywood’s most annoying couples.  Do I need to say any more?

jen garner

Keira Knightley.  Oh, Keira.  Where did it all go wrong?  With your incessant pouting?  Your infuriatingly plummy accent?  Or the fact you basically play the same character over and over again.

keira

So, there we have it.  What do you think?  Who gets your goat…?

 

14 responses to “The Shitlist – my top 10 most irritating actresses

  1. Totally with you on K-Stew. For reasons that I still can’t figure out, Kate Mara really really annoys me, so I’d include her on the list.

    • Hmm, I just looked at her filmography and I’ve seen some of her stuff but still can’t actually place her. I think that makes her a prime candidate for a ‘most forgettable actor’ list!

  2. Damn! You did a list too & I missed it! Hahaha – everyone has Paltrow on their list!!! ; ) The only ones I actively like here are Elizabeth Banks & Amy Adams… The rest suck quite a bit. Especially Paltrow. : )

  3. I find this an incredibly insulting commentary. If you see a lot of films, then you should have seen “Sliding Doors” with Gwyneth Paltrow and “The Yellow Handkerchief” with Kristen Stewart and you should have been vastly more interested in the quality of the acting than any discussion of macrobiotics or red carpet pouting. I could go on, but apparently that would be useless.

    • Ha! There are, honestly! Sandra Bullock, Cameron Diaz, Olivia Coleman, Tina Fey, Amy Poehler, just off the top of my head. I do quite like Anna Faris, too.

  4. Pingback: Red Eye | filmnerdblog·

  5. Brilliant Laura, but not you’ve got me feeling all bitchy about people. Rats! Who irritates me? Got it! Ray Winstone. Where do I start!? His Boston accent in The Departed. I’m sure Sorsese is old-school, which means he probably still watches the dailies. How could he not spot that he sounded like a cross between Dirty Den and Peter Griffin? Then there’s Indiana Jones 4. Oh dear Lord. “JONESEY”, he keeps shouting. I’m sorry, at what point did Ray Winstone earn the right to refer to Indiana Jones as “JONESY”? Then there’s the Bet365 adverts, in which he uses his geezery persona to promote online gambling. “AVE A BANG ON THAT”, he suggests. Honestly, I don’t know how audiences are supposed to accept him in films, yet Darren Aranofsky plants him smack, bang in the middle of Noah. Honestly, Jar Jar Binks would have stood out less.

    • Haha, excellent, that really made me chuckle! Isn’t it funny how some people just get under your skin? As for poor old Ray, he does seem to have become a bit of a caricature of himself in recent years. I might have to go back to The Departed and see if I can spot the Dirty Griffin accent!

Leave a Reply

