The Innkeepers

Brought to the screen by writer-director Ti West, The Innkeepers is a low-key, slow-burner of a horror film.  Although it is creepy in places, the word ‘horror’ seems a little strong, or maybe I’m just totally desensitized because I watch so many of the damn things.

Anyone who watches as many horror films as me knows YOU NEVER GO DOWN TO THE BASEMENT.  This is really basic stuff.

Anyone who watches as many horror films as me knows YOU NEVER GO DOWN TO THE BASEMENT. Especially if you think the place is haunted.  This is really basic stuff.

Anyway, the action (such as it is) centres on the last two staff members at the Yankee Pedlar Inn, on the eve of the hotel’s closure, as they try to find evidence of the hotel’s ghostly residents.  A simple premise, a small cast, a decent script, a surprising appearance by 80s star Kelly McGillis, and some good enough performances combine to make a pretty OK 101 minutes.  It isn’t particularly frightening and no doubt won’t please gore-hounds, but I thought it was a decent enough effort, although I wasn’t keen on the ending.

Score: 6.5/10

13 responses to “The Innkeepers

  1. I liked this one quite a bit! Remind me to come back here when I have wifi access so I can fully read your review and see if you agree with me or if you now think I suck. ; )

  2. I liked this one quite a bit but I do think I have a thing for creepy, old hotels….

  3. Mutant, you’re one of the least sucky people I know! I quite liked this, even though it isn’t quite perfect. to be fair though, it’s infinitely better than a lot of shit I watch!

  4. Agreed, this is a solid if not outstanding outing. Not particularly scary but I liked the simmering tension and the old school look. Great review Laura!

    Adam.

Leave a Reply

