Charlie Bartlett

I spotted this on Netflix recently and after seeing how much Rob liked it, I thought I should give it a go, and I’m glad I did.

Charlie Bartlett is a rich kid trying to make his way in a state school, having been expelled from just about every fee paying school there is.  Obviously bright, he wins over the other kids by offering counselling sessions in the boys’ toilets, where he also doles out medication prescribed for him.

Bueller?  Bueller?  Has anyone seen Ferris Bueller?

Bueller? Bueller? Has anyone seen Ferris Bueller?

The most notable things are that it certainly is weird to see Robert Downey Jr. as the school’s uptight principal rather than its resident teen hell-raiser, and that the actor playing Charlie (Anton Yelchin) is really bloody good.  I liked him in Only Lovers Left Alive (a film I really didn’t like), and I liked him in the new Star Trek movies (I thought they were pretty OK), I liked him in Odd Thomas (and I quite liked that one).

I really like this kid, he’s got something.  He’s genuinely talented, charming and guileless, and I’ll definitely be looking out for his other films.  The film itself is light on plot, but Yelchin carries it with ease and is a pleasure to watch.

18 responses to “Charlie Bartlett

  1. I’m so glad to see this film finally getting attention! I went to it when it came out and really liked it. I also like Anton Yelchin a lot. He’s in Odd Thomas?? Didn’t know that! Was gonna watch that as I’ve read the books but now I really want to see it. 🙂

    • I didn’t think it was a GREAT film, but it is watch-able and Anton Yelchin is definitely one to watch. He’s a very talented young lad.

      You should definitely watch Odd Thomas! I didn’t even know there were any books so maybe I’ll check them out, I enjoyed the story and I now really like Yelchin.

      • I REALLY liked the first Odd Thomas book. The second was okay. Not sure how many are after those two – I think there are at least two others. I’ll definitely watch the movie at some point. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Zombie girlfriend double bill: Burying the Ex and Life After Beth | filmnerdblog·

Leave a Reply

