Red Eye

I remember seeing this at the cinema when it came out in 2005, and my friend and I were practically rolling in the aisles.  I don’t think Wes Craven would have meant it as an out-and-out comedy, I suppose it isn’t, but I laughed and laughed and laughed.  The guy has such a great sense of humour, doesn’t he?

The totally daft plot sees Rachel McAdams (whom I usually can’t stand, but actually quite liked in this) taking a night-time flight where she is soon coerced, by the awesomely evil Cillian Murphy, to help in a plot to assassinate some dude.  See, he’s been following her, monitoring her movements.  He knows all about her.  He knows he can bend her to his will by threatening to have her father (played by Brian Cox) killed if she doesn’t follow his instructions.  What follows is a kind of cat and mouse game (although there’s not much actual chasing because they’re sitting next to each other on a plane, for the most part).  There is a bit at the end where there’s some running around though, which is really quite hilarious and sort of inspired.  I just loved the bit with the pen, and the way Murphy responds.  It’s kind of genius.

Film Title: Red Eye

Cillian Murphy is wonderful as the baddie, Jackson Rippner.  He manages to balance campy fun with a calculating coldness that’s just perfect for the role.  Rachel McAdams is good too, especially when she starts to fight back.

Score: 7/10

8 responses to “Red Eye

  1. Cillian Murphy makes for a great villain in this! I totally enjoyed this movie, and I thought the bit with the pen was crazy too!

  2. Ha! I went to this one as well and quite liked it. Even though, you know, it suffers a bit from that same PG-13ness (although I have no idea what rating it was in the US and I’m too lazy to look) 🙂

    • Curiosity got the better of me and I just looked this up. It was indeed a PG-13 in the US and a 12A here. It’s such a self-aware, tongue in cheek film I think the low ratings kind of work. If it was an 18, it would’ve been a very different film, and I’m sure it wouldn’t have been nearly as funny.

Leave a Reply

