Mad Max: Fury Road

Yeeeeehaaaaaa!  Wow!  Err… Blimey!  I’m not really sure…words…  I’m just, wow!  Now, everyone knows that Mad Max originally happened 30+ years ago before Mel Gibson, well, we know about Mel Gibson, too.  Anyway, if you haven’t seen it what are you doing, go and see it immediately!

mad max opening

Have they gone?  OK, good..

You know the plot, so I won’t rehash it.  What I will say is, at the end of its two hour runtime, I stumbled from the cinema into the daylight, confused by my pre-apocalyptic surroundings and overwhelmed but what I’d just seen.  I was simultaneously buzzing and exhausted.  Mad Max: Fury Road – like its characters – is relentless.  It just.  Does.  Not. Give. Up.  While a seemingly never-ending stream of chases and fights might not sound that good, it it.  It really is.

I loved the action, the scenery, the styling, the post industrial machines and vehicles, the characters, the adrenaline!

mad max aa

Something else about Mad Max that I whole-heartedly enjoyed, and would like to see more of in the genre: strong women.  In fact, this could easily have been called Furiosa – the name of Charlize Theron’s character.  I thought she took centre stage for much of the film, with Max sometimes propelling her story more than telling his own.  And as much as I like Tom Hardy (that’s a lot, by the way), and as good a job as he does here, I thought it was Theron’s Furiosa who stole the show.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I also liked the two small bands of women – the young (unwilling) wives of the primary antagonist Immortan Joe, and the older women we meet along the way.  While we didn’t learn much about them individually, collectively they represent something really positive and different.  These women aren’t helpless damsels, they’re fighting for their own survival.

mad max girls

Anyway, while Mad Max: Fury Road isn’t quite perfect,  it has a lot to offer and I I had a bloody good time with it.  I can’t recall the last film that had me almost lost for words at the end (yes, I’ve clearly managed to find my words again, now!).

Score: 9/10

32 responses to “Mad Max: Fury Road

  1. Woo hoo!!!! Excellent review Laura – exhausted and buzzing – what a way to come out of the cinema!

    I have an image of you stumbling out and being like “what….what just happened?!”

    I’ve heard that Charlize Theron steals the show somewhat and I’m so glad! Tom Hardy is brilliant and everyone knows that anyway, so it’s nice for a girl to steal the show. #strongwomen

    She’s bloody lucky she can pull of the shaven head look though! I would look like a man (“I have this theory, that if you shaved off all her hair she’d look like a British man”) if I did that. NOT a pretty man. LOL!

    Loved this review!!!!! So glad you enjoyed it 🙂

    • There are four actresses that for me have rocked the shaven head look; Charlize Theron, Natalie Portman, Sigourney Weaver and Demi Moore.

    • Yay, thanks Emma! I loved this film, and it only made me like Theron more. She’s such a fearless actress and seems to have no vanity at all. And of course, she still manages to be beautiful with a shaved head. I think it’d make me look like a giant baby. #notagoodlook

      Ooh, there was also a trailer for Legend, the new Kray twins film starring Tom Hardy and Tom Hardy. It. Looks. Good.

      • Wow, can only imagine Tom Hardy playing the infamous Krays!!!!!!!!! Better than the Kemps?! I reckon it will be.

        I’ll look up the trailer 🙂

        Yes you’re right. And of course she played Aileen Wuornos didn’t she!!! AMAZINGLY.

      • I have a sneaking suspicion that Hardy miiiiiiight just pip the Kemps to win that one!

        Theron is great, and Monster? Wow, she was particularly brilliant in that. Did you see Nick Broomfield’s documentary, Aileen: Life and Death of a Serial Killer? Really powerful stuff.

      • But could he sing “True” or “Gold” I wonder?! Hmmmmm! Ha ha ha.

        Yes I did see that documentary actually. Wow – red letter day, Emma has seen something haha 🙂

        I felt sorry for her, I know what she did was unforgivable at times but she was a nutcase and an abused nutcase as that. Not right.

      • I bet Tom Hardy could do anything : )

        Aileen was a deeply troubled person, and seeing her story makes me glad that we don’t have the death penalty hear. She was a victim long before she was a perpetrator. She was dealt a really shitty hand.

      • hell YES that Legend trailer looks good!! Can’t wait for it. Have you heard of Child 44? Tom hardy with a fantastic Russian accent. It also has Gary oldman and Vincent Cassell. Its available online on the 4th of August I believe

  2. YES YES YES – A MILLION YESSES – I agree with this 1000%. Theron fucking rocked and that group of older women were badass. I LOVED this movie!

    Love,

    ei

  3. WooFUCKINGhoo!!!! Mad Max! YES!!!!! Great review, Laura. Lol – Yes, I think we felt the same while writing our reviews & still buzzing from this. And I think I totally have a girl crush on Furiosa now! 🙂

  4. Great write up. Your excitement mirrors my own! Hehe, ‘blimey’… are you from the UK? if so, hello from your baby country full of prisoners!! 😛 (aka Australia)

    • Haha! Yep, I’m English. Hello over there! It’s probably a good thing that my relatives didn’t go, I’m useless in hot weather.

      Also, I didn’t realise Strongbow was a global phenomenon. Go ‘Bow!

      • WOOO!!! Yeah it gets REALLY goddamn hot in the summers here. I didn’t know if the ‘Bow was global either!! I wasn’t sure if it was an Aussie thing or not! All I know is that I want some NOW….. but its only 7:34 in the morning! :(:(:(

      • You might have to hang on, maybe until noon? I’m looking forward to my Friday ‘Bow, that first one after work tastes so good!

      • Ahh… work. I need work! not working is BORING!!! I think 11am is when the bottlo’s open… I might chug a sixer before 12, cos I have a dentists appointment at 12:50 :S :S

        FIVE fillings I need. Not looking forward to it. I’ll need an arseload of Listerine to get the alcohol out of my breath!!!

      • I saved a bunch for after the dentist. My mouth is all numb hahaha but it doesn’t make the ‘Bow taste any worse!!! 😀 😀 Mmmmm Strongbow Dry, the memories from childhood are coming back! 😛

Leave a Reply

